Plastics Pipe Institute announces annual award winners

Aug. 23, 2016
Awards were presented during the PPI’s Annual Meeting in Hilton Head, South Carolina in May.
PPI Project of the Year winners with PPI President Tony Radoszewski are (left to right) Building & Construction Division - Gary Morgan of Viega; Conduit Division - Michael Perry of Southwire; Corrugated Plastic Pipe Division - Tori Durliat of Advanced Drainage Systems, Inc.; Municipal & Industrial Division - Mike Whitehouse of ISCO Industries; and Energy Piping Systems Division - Greg Bannec of Victaulic.

IRVING, TEXAS - AUGUST 23, 2016 -- The Plastics Pipe Institute, Inc. (PPI) today announced this year’s winners being acknowledged for exceptional service and significant industry contributions involving the use of various types of plastics in pipe infrastructure. Five projects and four individuals were honored. PPI is the major trade association representing all segments of the plastic pipe industry. The association established its “Projects and Members of the Year” peer-recognition program in 2010.

PPI Project of the Year Winners
Presented during the PPI’s Annual Meeting in Hilton Head, South Carolina in May, the awarded project winners are:

PPI Building and Construction Division Project of the Year
Big Bear Area Regional Wastewater Agency
PPI Member Company: Viega LLC

PPI Conduit Division Project of the Year
Toyota Motor Manufacturing Landfill to Energy Project
PPI Member Company: Southwire Company

PPI Corrugated Plastic Pipe Division Project of the Year
Tooele, Utah UDOT Road Reconstruction Storm Water Drainage Project
PPI Member Company: Advanced Drainage Systems, Inc. (ADS)

PPI Energy Piping Systems Division Project of the Year
Atlas Resources Hamman Saltwater Disposal Facility
PPI Member Company: Victaulic

PPI Municipal & Industrial Division Project of the Year
Miami-Dade Force Main Repair Project
PPI Member Company: ISCO Industries

PPI Member of the Year Winners
The PPI membership also selected the following individuals for their outstanding service and achievements to the industry and the organization:

Gary Morgan of Viega, Building & Construction Division for leadership and service as Division Chairman and Member of Codes & Standards Committee.

Randy Kummer of Southwire, Conduit Division for service on UL and National Electrical Manufacturers Association (NEMA) Task Groups.

Jeremy Duininck of Prinsco, Corrugated Plastic Pipe Division for leadership while serving as Division Chair.

Karen Lively of Performance Pipe, Municipal & Industrial Division for extensive invested time and services on the Chlorine Design Basis project.

"This year, attendance at our PPI Annual Meeting increased by 50 percent since PPI last held its Annual Meeting in Hilton Head five years ago," stated Tony Radoszewski, president, PPI. "PPI attendees included 31 first-time participants and eight new member companies. This level of increased involvement definitely illustrates the continuing momentum of PPI’s industry-cooperative spirit and intensive efforts. It is this dedication and interaction of colleagues and partners that bolster PPI and industry advancements. All of these factors are excellent indications of the increasing use of plastics in pipe systems which is happening now and helping to revitalize our infrastructure – a sorely needed endeavor."

For more information, visit the Plastics Pipe Institute website:

About PPI
The Plastics Pipe Institute Inc. (PPI) is the major trade association representing all segments of the plastic pipe industry and is dedicated to promoting plastics as the material of choice for pipe applications. PPI is the premier technical, engineering and industry knowledge resource publishing data for use in development and design of plastic pipe systems. Additionally, PPI collaborates with industry organizations that set standards for manufacturing practices and installation methods.